Knitting Supplies at Craftsy.com
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: needle tatting, when pattern calls for two shuttles

Default needle tatting, when pattern calls for two shuttles

First thank you all for your encouragement. You are awesome ladies. For those who do not know me yet, I am still quite new to needle tatting but I have some experience with crochet and emboirery. I picked up needle tatting from a friend earlier this month. I have been muddling my way through by trial and error. I can not tell you how many times I have taken out stitches or started over, lets just say that most of my thread work to date has been toss out.
    Let me start by saying I have zero shuttle experience. Ok now the question. I am working a pattern that has called for two shuttles.
    What are the results produced by two shuttles verse one? Is the product thicker when you use two? Is it for convience? Can the results produced by the two shuttles be copied some way with using a tatting needle? If so how.
    I learned when I was crocheting that all patterns can be addapted, that a mistake is only a mistake if not repeated through out the project, Meaning that if you keep the same mistake up then it becomes an alteration rather then a mistake. So with that in mind, is it possible to alter patterns that call for two shuttles?
    Thank you for your suggestions

Default Re: needle tatting, when pattern calls for two shuttles

Telling us which pattern you are trying out would make it easier to answer your question.
    Freelance Graphic Designer www.craftsuprint.com/carol-lepard
    Card Blog www.bycarolivy.blogspot.com
    Tatting Blog proudneedletatter.blogspot.com

Hi Carol Ivy
    I am usually working more then one pattern at a time it helps calm down my frustration level as I am learning. My current pattern is flying minor norwegian dragon, found on the knots links http://www.intatters.com/knots/2010/...egian-dragons/ .