Knitting Supplies at Craftsy.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: mantilla or chapel veil pattern?

Default mantilla or chapel veil pattern?

Hello,

I am new to tatting and I it. I would like to tat my own mantilla or chapel veil to wear to the Latin Mass I have been attending. Can anyone help me with a relatively simple (beginning) pattern. I have been looking for more then a week now and fear that it does not exist!

Thank you in advance.

-Denise

Blog Entries

Default Re: mantilla or chapel veil pattern?

I don't know of any patterns, DeniseD. How big does it need to be and what shape? My first thought is that you should do it in mignonette stitch. Each row is a string of rings with empty thread between them. You join the next row to the empty threads of the previous row. You could finish it off with a ring and chain edging to stabilize it.

Others will be along shortly with other ideas and suggestions. Someone might even know of a pattern. Let us know what you come up with, please.
    Eliz Davis, NATA #146

Remembering the little pieces of lace which we wore to mass in the 60s, perhaps a pretty doily pattern wold work.

Cup Re: mantilla or chapel veil pattern?

I would like my chapel veil to be a triangle shape - long enough to reach my shoulders and cover my hair which goes midway down my back. I could use the doily type of head-covering but I tend to think those are more for little girls. Btw, I did go to Joanne's fabric and picked up a yard of crafters lace. I will tat an edge. That will keep me until I find some other pattern or design one myself. I will let you know how that goes.

Blog Entries

I was about to suggest you embroider a fine fabric with an edging and tatted flowers or something. I've used chiffon for an evening shawl following a 1915 pattern.