PDA

View Full Version : Tatting mantilla or chapel veil pattern?

DeniseD
28-07-2010, 03:24 PM
Hello,

I am new to tatting and I :heart: it. I would like to tat my own mantilla or chapel veil to wear to the Latin Mass I have been attending. Can anyone help me with a relatively simple (beginning) pattern. I have been looking for more then a week now and fear that it does not exist! :cry:

Thank you in advance.

-Denise

tatknot
28-07-2010, 03:29 PM
I don't know of any patterns, DeniseD. How big does it need to be and what shape? My first thought is that you should do it in mignonette stitch. Each row is a string of rings with empty thread between them. You join the next row to the empty threads of the previous row. You could finish it off with a ring and chain edging to stabilize it.

Others will be along shortly with other ideas and suggestions. Someone might even know of a pattern. Let us know what you come up with, please.

LadyDoc
28-07-2010, 04:27 PM
Remembering the little pieces of lace which we wore to mass in the 60s, perhaps a pretty doily pattern wold work.

DeniseD
28-07-2010, 06:40 PM
I would like my chapel veil to be a triangle shape - long enough to reach my shoulders and cover my hair which goes midway down my back. I could use the doily type of head-covering but I tend to think those are more for little girls. Btw, I did go to Joanne's fabric and picked up a yard of crafters lace. I will tat an edge. That will keep me until I find some other pattern or design one myself. I will let you know how that goes.:cool:

IcePrincess
29-07-2010, 08:28 AM
I was about to suggest you embroider a fine fabric with an edging and tatted flowers or something. I've used chiffon for an evening shawl following a 1915 pattern.